IRUPA Nevin Spence Memorial Trophy

Designed by renowned Northern Irish silversmith Cara Murphy, this piece was commissioned following the renaming of the IRUPA Young Player of the Year Award in memory of the Ulster centre, Nevin Spence. The piece was presented to Emma and Laura Spence at Ravenhill before journeying on to be awarded at the IRUPA ceremony (7th May).

The trophy comprises of 32 gold plated silver blades representing the 32 counties and is reminiscent of grass, denoting grassroots, the foundation that supports rugby across the island of Ireland.  

Central to the piece are four larger silver blades representing the four Provinces; Connacht, Leinster, Munster and Ulster – coming together – in achievement and holding aloft a solid silver rugby ball. 

The trophy is mounted on an mahogony base and is engraved with the all the winners names since the inaugural award in 2003.

Nevin Spence received the IRUPA Young Player accolade in 2011 and IRUPA members, the players, believe it is a very fitting tribute to Nevin and his family. Read more about the Nevin Spence Memorial Trohy here.

Connaught/Ireland's Robbie Henshaw received the Nevin Spence Young Player Award 2014.

Image: The Nevin Spence Memorial Trophy by Cara Murphy.


Related Events

Related Resources